UCF Holds Annual All-Sports Banquet

April 14, 2010

By Doug Richards

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - UCF held its annual all-sports banquet inside the UCF Arena Wednesday evening, and student-athletes were honored for a variety of athletic and academic accomplishments achieved during the 2009-10 school year.

Each UCF team recognized its student-athletes with five different awards: the Iron Award, Coaches Award, Newcomer of the Year, Scholar-Athlete Award and Most Valuable Player. Each head coach presented their student-athletes with the awards.

Additional awards were presented to deserving student-athletes. T.J. Harnden (football) and Becca Thomas (women's soccer) received the Dr. Bill Callarman Award. The honor, which is named after UCF's former NCAA Faculty Representative, is given for outstanding effort in the classroom. Thomas garnered the award for the second-straight year. The Dr. Richard Lapchick Award, which measures both athletic and academic achievement, plus community service, was presented to Shane Brown (baseball) and Jessica Francis (track and field).

The cross country and baseball teams were honored for having the top team grade point averages, while the men's basketball squad was commended for having the most improved team GPA.

Three students who assist UCF's teams on a daily basis were also honored during the banquet. Eddie Hughes was selected as the student trainer of the year, Sean Berg was named the manager of the year and Jennifer Campbell was tabbed as the video person of the year.

Mike O'Donnell and John Evans served as the hosts for the event.

For the latest news on the Knights, log on to UCFAthletics.com - the official site for UCF varsity sports. The site, which also contains ticket and Golden Knights Club donor information, is also the home of UCF's new online apparel store. Also visit UCFPhotos.com, the exclusive fan source for UCF action sports pictures.

Dr. Bill Callarman Award
T.J. Harnden (football)
Becca Thomas (women's soccer)

Dr. Richard Lapchick Award
Shane Brown (baseball)
Jessica Francis (track and field)

Student Trainer of the Year
Eddie Hughes

Manager of the Year
Sean Berg

Video Person of the Year
Jennifer Campbell

Top Team GPA
Cross country

Most Improved GPA
Men's basketball

Iron Award
Chris Duffy (baseball)
Ben O'Donnell (men's basketball)
Chelsie Wiley (women's basketball)
Bruce Miller (football)
Brad Schneider (men's golf)
Josh Andone (men's soccer)
Lauren Halbert (women's soccer)
Joe Delinks (men's tennis)
Katie Orletsky (women's tennis)
Jennifer Belew (volleyball)
Morgan Bullard (softball)
Champelle Brown (track and field)
Ocean Cohen (cross country)
Lauren Hampson (rowing)
Keith Gross (spirit)

Coaches Award
Taylor Young (men's basketball)
Ashia Kelly (women's basketball)
Bruce Miller (football)
Brad Schneider (men's golf)
Katie Detlefsen (women's golf)
Adam Kraemer (men's soccer)
Emily Maynard (women's soccer)
Daniel Mattos (men's tennis)
Genevieve Lorbergs (women's tennis)
Alexis Rodriguez (women's tennis)
Tory McCutcheon (volleyball)
Lakendra Thames (track and field)
Ocean Cohen (cross country)
Lauren Whitt (spirit)
Kaitlyn Embrey (dance)

Newcomer of the Year
Keith Clanton (men's basketball)
Quincy McDuffie (football)
Connor Arendell (men's golf)
Valentina Fontaine (women's golf)
Nicholas Robson (men's soccer)
Bianca Joswiak (women's soccer)
Mario Samson (men's tennis)
Taylor Dubins (women's tennis)
Meredith Murphy (volleyball)
Sonnisha Williams (track and field)
Tomika Story (track and field)
Alyssa Franks (cross country)
Jacob Benedict (spirit)
Kaley Zimmerman (dance)

Scholar-Athlete Award
Shane Brown (baseball)
Isaac Sosa (men's basketball)
Jessica Hall (women's basketball)
Rocky Ross (football)
Nuno Henriques (men's golf)
Katie Detlefsen (women's golf)
Nicholas Robson (men's soccer)
Becca Thomas (women's soccer)
Claudio Romano (men's tennis)
Jenny Frisell (women's tennis)
Kristin Fisher (volleyball)
Abby McClain (softball)
Lakendra Thames (track and field)
Ocean Cohen (cross country)
Chelsey Lauzon (rowing)

Most Valuable Player
A.J. Tyler (men's basketball)
D'Nay Daniels (women's basketball)
Brett Hodges (football)
Nuno Henriques (men's golf)
Yaron Bacher (men's soccer)
Becca Thomas (women's soccer)
Brock Sakey (men's tennis)
Erin Campbell (volleyball)
Jamie Rzepecki (cross country)
Keith Gross (spirit)
Stacey Woodruff (dance)