UCF to Compete in South Carolina Against Clemson, UNC

March 31, 2006

ORLANDO - After an impressive showing last week at the Petrakis Cup in Jacksonville, the UCF women's rowing team will return to the waters on Saturday in Clemson, S.C., competing against North Carolina and host Clemson. The Golden Knights' varsity eight, second varsity eight, novice eight and novice four boats will all be in action on Lake Hartwell.

Last week at the Petrakis Cup on the St. John's River, UCF's varsity eight boats posted impressive performances against Embry-Riddle, Tulane and host Jacksonville. The Golden Knights won the race, clocking in with a time of 6:42.0. UCF's second varsity eight finished second at 7:01.4, nine seconds ahead of third-place Jacksonville.

The Golden Knights' varsity eight received votes in the March 29 US Rowing/Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association poll. UCF joined Northeastern, Notre Dame, Louisville, Texas, Duke and Iowa in the receiving votes category.

UCF competed at Clemson during the 2004 season, but did not make the trip to South Carolina a year ago.

The novice eight boat did not compete in Jacksonville due to rough conditions on the water, but will compete in South Carolina this weekend.

Racing at Clemson beings at 9 a.m. with the varsity eight race. UCF's second varsity eight will hit the water at 9:20 a.m., followed by the novice eight at 9:40 a.m. At 10 a.m., the varsity four will be in action.

UCF lineups:

Varsity Eight
Cox: Katie Chapman
Stroke: Caitlin Pauls
7 seat: Kyla Smith
6 seat: Tanya Kleisler
5 seat: Melissa Westhoff
4 seat: Stephanie Adams
3 seat: Krystina Sarff
2 seat: Robin Capers
Bow: Katherine Motes

2nd Varsity Eight
Cox: Kim Swift
Stroke: Tanis Franchuk
7 seat: Mary Rosser
6 seat: Erika Frantz
5 seat: Kristin Roach
4 seat: Samantha Heinrich
3 seat: Melissa Kroll
2 seat: Christy Collier
Bow: Brittney Kusner

Varsity Four
Cox: Heather Brooks
Stroke: Jessica Veeneman
3 seat: Tara Rogers
2 seat: Vilma Ramos

Novice Eight
Cox: Lecelle Johnson
Stroke: Erin Bernier
7 seat: Ausley Gage
6 seat: Ally Baldwin
5 seat: Danielle Leen
4 seat: Kaitlin O'Connell
3 seat: Meghan Graber
2 seat: Lauren Schueler
1 seat: Taylor Wiatt