Johnson, Brown Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

DALLAS – The Football Writers Association of America has announced the preseason watch list for the 2019 Outland Trophy presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, and UCF’s Jordan Johnson and Jake Brown were among the honorees.


The award honoring the top interior lineman in college football will continue to be selected by the FWAA membership and has been rebranded as the Outland Trophy presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases.


Johnson has also been named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List and was a nominee for the AFCA Good Works Team this preseason. A First Team All-Conference honoree a season ago, Johnson has started the last 26 games at center for the Knights.


Brown, meanwhile, returns to the UCF offensive line after earning First Team All-Conference honors himself in 2018. The offensive tackle helped lead the Knights to school rushing records in yards, touchdowns, and yards per carry.


The recipient of the 74th Outland Trophy will be announced during ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12, live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the NFID Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee on Jan. 15, 2020.


Up to eight semifinalists will be named on Nov. 20 in Omaha and three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25. Candidates may be added or removed during the season.


2019 National Watch Lists

  • Maxwell Award: Adrian Killins Jr.
  • Bednarik Award: Richie Grant
  • AFCA Good Works Team: Jordan Johnson
  • Doak Walker Award: Greg McCrae
  • Biletnikoff Award: Gabriel Davis
  • Rimington Trophy: Jordan Johnson
  • Jim Thorpe Award: Richie Grant
  • Outland Trophy: Jordan Johnson, Jake Brown