Grant Adds Nagurski Trophy to Watch List Honors

DALLAS –  The Football Writers Association of America released its 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List today, selecting 92 defensive standouts from 65 schools in all 10 Division I FBS conferences plus independents on a roster that includes UCF’s Richie Grant.


This marks the third national award watch list for Grant this preseason, having already been named to the Bednarik Award and Jim Thorpe Award watch lists.


Grant led the UCF defense in 2018, totaling a team-high 109 tackles and snagging six interceptions, which ranked third in the nation. Grant was a First Team All-Conference honoree a year ago after leading the Knights to an 11-0 regular season.


Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. As in previous years, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday this season. If not already on the watch list, each week’s honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.


The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.


2019 National Watch Lists

  • Maxwell Award: Adrian Killins Jr.
  • Bednarik Award: Richie Grant
  • AFCA Good Works Team: Jordan Johnson
  • Doak Walker Award: Greg McCrae
  • Biletnikoff Award: Gabriel Davis
  • Rimington Trophy: Jordan Johnson
  • Jim Thorpe Award: Richie Grant
  • Outland Trophy: Jordan Johnson, Jake Brown
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy: Richie Grant