Grant on Watch List for Jim Thorpe Award

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame has released the 2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List, and UCF’s Richie Grant is among the honorees.


The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award annually recognizes the best defensive back in college football. The award is based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. As such, it is considered one of the most coveted awards in college football.


This list includes 46 of the nation's best defensive backs, representing 10 conferences and one Independent program. The preseason watch list is selected by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-50 players. This list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.


Grant, who was also named to the watch list for the Bednarik Award earlier this month, led the Knights with six interceptions in 2018. The safety had 109 total tackles was a First Team All-AAC honoree following the season.


The Jim Thorpe Award recipient is selected by the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award National Selection Committee, which boasts members of the NCFAA, an Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in-house award committee, former Paycom Jim Thorpe Award recipients, and sportswriters and college football journalists throughout the country.


The 2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards Presented by Gildan on Thursday, December 12, 2019, on ESPN. The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award commemorative banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 4, 2020, in Oklahoma City.


2019 National Watch Lists

  • Maxwell Award: Adrian Killins Jr.
  • Bednarik Award: Richie Grant
  • AFCA Good Works Team: Jordan Johnson
  • Doak Walker Award: Greg McCrae
  • Biletnikoff Award: Gabriel Davis
  • Rimington Trophy: Jordan Johnson
  • Jim Thorpe Award: Richie Grant