UCF Holds Annual All-Sports Awards Banquet

April 9, 2009

ORLANDO, Fla. - On Thursday evening, UCF student-athletes convened at the UCF Arena for the second-annual All-Sports Banquet. Members of each UCF program were honored for a variety of athletic and academic accomplishments achieved during the 2008-09 school year.

Each UCF team honored its student-athletes with five different awards: the Iron Award, Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Coaches Award and Most Valuable Player. Each head coach presented their student-athletes with the awards.

Additional awards were presented to deserving student-athletes. Joe Burnett (football) and Becca Thomas (women's soccer) received the Dr. Bill Callarman Award. The honor, which is named after UCF's former NCAA Faculty Representative, is given for outstanding effort in the classroom. The Dr. Richard Lapchick Award, which measures both athletic and academic achievement, plus community service, was presented to Brennan Dobbins (baseball) and Allison Palmer (cross country/track and field).

The men's and women's golf programs were recognized for having the top grade point average of UCF's teams. Two programs - men's tennis and women's basketball - were recognized for having the most improved GPAs.

Several students who work closely with UCF's varsity programs were also honored during the banquet. James Laughlin was named the manager of the year, Kirby Kreider was selected as the video person of the year and Jenna Earls and Ryley Williams shared trainer of the year honors.

The event began with UCF director of athletics Keith R. Tribble meeting with graduating seniors. Student-athletes, coaches, athletics staff and members of the UCFAA Board of Directors attended the banquet.

For the latest news on the Knights, log on to UCFAthletics.com - the official site for UCF varsity sports. The site, which also contains ticket and Golden Knights Club donor information, is also the home of UCF's new online apparel store. Also visit UCFPhotos.com, the exclusive fan source for UCF action sports pictures.

Award Recipients

Dr. Bill Callarman Award
Joe Burnett (football)
Becca Thomas (women's soccer)

Dr. Richard Lapchick Award
Brennan Dobbins (baseball)
Allison Palmer (cross country/track and field)

Manager of the Year
James Laughlin

Video Person of the Year
Kirby Kreider

Trainer of the Year
Jenna Earls
Ryley Williams

Men's golf
Women's golf

Most Improved GPA
Men's tennis
Women's basketball

Iron Award
Chadd Hartmann (baseball)
Kenrick Zondervan (men's basketball)
Emma Cannon (women's basketball)
Torrell Troup (football)
Blayne Barber (men's golf)
Mayule Tomimbang (women's golf)
Camilo Rendon (men's soccer)
Emily Maynard (women's soccer)
Blaze Schwartz (men's tennis)
Andrea Yacaman (women's tennis)
Kristen Fisher (volleyball)
Breanne Javier (softball)
Dione Thomas (track and field)
Lakendra Thames (track and field)
Carley Dart (cross country)
Allie Boudreau (spirit)
Erin Bernier (rowing)

Coaches Award
Justin Weiss (baseball)
Kenrick Zondervan (men's basketball)
Chelsie Wiley (women's basketball)
Rocky Ross (football)
Blayne Barber (men's golf)
Katie Detlefsen (women's golf)
Camilo Rendon (men's soccer)
Jessie Gardner (women's soccer)
Brock Sakey (men's tennis)
Christy Core (women's tennis)
Alexis Rodriguez (women's tennis)
Jenny Heppert (volleyball)
Kyle Stone (spirit)
Jessica Brown (dance)

Newcomer of the Year
Beau Taylor (baseball)
A.J. Rompza (men's basketball)
Aisha Patrick (women's basketball)
Rob Calabrese (football)
Simon Ward (men's golf)
Elisa Aoki (women's golf)
Kevan George (men's soccer)
Stacie Hubbard (women's soccer)
Marc Rocafort (men's tennis)
Andrea Yacaman (women's tennis)
Janine Williams (volleyball)
Danielle Walden (spirit)
Stacey Woodruff (dance)

Scholar-Athlete Award
Kiko Vazquez (baseball)
A.J. Tyler (men's basketball)
Jessica Hall (women's basketball)
Alex Thompson (football)
Simon Ward (men's golf)
Katie Detlefsen (women's golf)
Josh And one (men's soccer)
Danielle dos Santos (women's soccer)
Blaze Schwartz (men's tennis)
Elvira Serrot (women's tennis)
Jenny Heppert (volleyball)
Breanne Javier (softball)
Sheree Carter (track and field)
Craig Austion (spirit)
Meghan Hays (dance)
Taylor Wiatt (rowing)

Most Valuable Player
Brandon Romans (baseball)
Jermaine Taylor (men's basketball)
Emma Cannon (women's basketball)
Joe Burnett (football)
David Johnson (men's golf)
Mayule Tomimbang (women's golf)
Sean Johnson (men's soccer)
Aline Reis (women's soccer)
Blaze Schwartz (men's tennis)
Jenny Frisell (women's tennis)
Stephanie Serna (volleyball)
Keegan Hubbard (spirit)
Roxanne Schneider (dance)