UCF Athletics Celebrates Successful Year at Black & Gold Gala

April 11, 2011

="" alt="Knight Head" border="0" class="imported"> Read John Denton's Knights Insider | ="" alt="Twitter Logo" border="0" class="imported">Follow us on Twitter | ="" alt="Facebook Logo" border="0" class="imported">Get social with the Knights on Facebook

By Doug Richards

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - UCF Athletics celebrated a successful year Monday evening during the annual Black & Gold Gala inside the UCF Arena. During the event, student-athletes were honored for a variety of athletic and academic accomplishments achieved during the 2010-11 school year.

Each UCF team recognized its student-athletes with five different awards: the Iron Award (selected by the strength and conditioning staff), Coaches Award, Newcomer of the Year, Scholar-Athlete Award and Most Valuable Player.

Additional individual awards were presented to deserving student-athletes. Chelsie Wiley of the women's basketball team and football's Ronnie Weaver received the Dr. Bill Callarman Award. The honor, which is named after UCF's former NCAA Faculty Representative, is given for outstanding effort in the classroom.

The Dr. Richard Lapchick Award, which measures athletic and academic achievement, in addition to community service, was presented to Ashia Kelly (women's basketball) and Spencer Scott (men's soccer). Isaac Sosa (men's basketball) and Katie Detlefsen (women's golf) garnered the Scholar-Athlete Award. Nuno Henriques (men's golf) and Diana Rojas (softball) received the PRIDE Award. Football's Jeff Godfrey was named the Freshman of the Year.

The volleyball and men's tennis teams were recognized for having the top team grade point averages. Football was selected as the team of the year, and women's basketball earned the comeback of the year award.

The Knights Challenge Award, which marks involvement in the community, was presented to the women's track & field team.

Five students who assist UCF's teams on a daily basis were also honored during the banquet. Andrew Beverly, who works with the men's basketball program, was named the Student Trainer of the Year. Keyana Janai Terry (softball) was tabbed as the Manager of the Year. Kasey Truman and Alex Thorp shared the Video Person of the Year honor, and Belkis Sanchez was named the Tutor of the Year.

Dr. Bill Callarman Award
Chelsie Wiley (women's basketball)
Ronnie Weaver (football)

Dr. Richard Lapchick Award
Ashia Kelly (women's basketball)
Spencer Scott (men's soccer)

Scholar-Athlete Award
Katie Detlefsen (women's golf)
Isaac Sosa (men's basketball)

Diana Rojas (softball)
Nuno Henriques (men's golf)

Freshman of the Year
Jeff Godfrey (football)

Student Trainer of the Year
Andrew Beverly (men's basketball)

Student Manager of the Year
Keyana Janai Terry (softball)

Student Video Person of the Year
Kasey Truman and Alex Thorp

Student Tutor of the Year
Belkis Sanchez

Team of the Year Award

Top Team GPA
Volleyball and men's tennis

Team Comeback of the Year
Women's basketball

Knights Challenge Award
Track & field

Iron Award
Alex Friedrich (baseball)
Isaac Sosa (men's basketball
Jelisa Caldwell (women's basketball)
Jacob Benedcit (cheer)
Mason Gardberg (cross country)
David Williams (football)
Kyle Wilshire (men's golf)
Kaitlyn Price (women's golf)
Liz Robinson (rowing)
Kevan George (men's soccer)
Katie Jackson (women's soccer)
Abby McClain (softball)
Claudio Romano (men's tennis)
Alexis Rodriguez (women's tennis)
Destinee Romain (indoor track & field)
Jackie Coward (outdoor track & field)
Rachel Vukson (volleyball)

Coaches Award
Brennan Dobbins (baseball)
Isaiah Sykes (men's basketball)
Aisha Patrick (women's basketball)
Danielle Walden (cheer)
Carley Dart (cross country)
Kaitlin Embrey (dance)
David Williams (football)
Nuno Henriques (men's golf)
Jordyn Hage (women's golf)
Spencer Scott (men's soccer)
Lauren Halbert (women's soccer)
Abby McClain (softball)
Eugene Dolgovykh (men's tennis)
Taylor Dubins (women's tennis)
Champelle Brown (indoor track & field)
Erica Weiss and Sonnisha Williams (outdoor track & field)
Rachel Vukson (volleyball)

Newcomer of the Year
Travis Shreve (baseball)
Tom Herzog (men's basketball)
Jacob Serre (cheer)
Danielle Scaffidi (cross country
Kristen Winship (dance)
Jeff Godfrey (football)
Greg Eason (men's golf)
Kaitlyn Price (women's golf)
Luiz Yamashita (men's soccer)
Marissa Diggs (women's soccer)
Allie Jest (softball)
Mitch Thams (men's tennis)
Josephine Haraldson (women's tennis)
Aurieyall Scott (indoor track & field)
Dominique Booker (outdoor track & field)
Nichole Riedel (volleyball)

Scholar-Athlete Award
Nick Cicio (baseball)
Isaac Sosa (men's basketball)
Kayli Keough (women's basketball
Eugene Cowan (cheer)
Ocean Cohen (cross country
Kaley Zimmerman (dance)
Josh Linam (football)
Kyle Wilshire (men's golf)
Katie Detlefsen (women's golf)
Chelsey Lauzon (rowing)
Nik Robson (men's soccer)
Aline Reis (women's soccer)
Abby McClain (softball)
Blaze Schwartz (men's tennis)
Taylor Dubins (women's tennis)
Lynne Layne (indoor track & field)
Champelle Brown (outdoor track & field)
Kristin Fisher (volleyball)

Most Valuable Player
Darnell Sweeney (baseball)
Keith Clanton and Marcus Jordan (men's basketball)
D'Nay Daniels and Chelsie Wiley (women's basketball)
Keith Gross (cheer)
Ocean Cohen (cross country)
Kaley Zimmerman (dance)
Bruce Miller (football)
Connor Arendell and Greg Eason (men's golf)
Kaitlyn Price (women's golf)
Warren Creavalle (men's soccer)
Aline Reis (women's soccer)
Natalie Land (softball)
Joe Delinks (men's tennis)
Jackie Coward (indoor track & field)
Kristin Fisher (volleyball)