Women's Rowers Grand in Finals at San Diego Crew Classic

April 3, 2005

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - Paced by the Varsity Eight's second place showing, the UCF women's rowing team posted solid efforts in the final day of racing at the San Diego Crew Classic on Sunday.

The Golden Knights' Varsity Eight of Amy Price, Kyla Smith, Tanya Kleisler, Melissa Westhoff, Caitlin Pauls, Krystina Sarff, Katherine Motes, Mary Rosser and cox Lisa Beltran finished in the No. 2 spot in the grand final of the Women's Cal Cup at 6:54.25. The time was just two seconds off the winner San Diego State at 6:52.4.

Meanwhile, the Lightweight Eight - which featured Robin Capers, Laura Brad, Pamela Wall, Melissa Kroll, Lindsay Wood, Lauren Rice, Nikki Jones, Jennifer Frye and coxswain Stephanie Mangone - placed fourth in the grand final of the A.W. Coggeshall Cup at 7:20.58.

With a time of 7:20.42, the Junior Varsity took second behind San Diego State in the third final of its event on Saturday afternoon.

The Golden Knights return to action when they travel to Tampa for the Florida Intercollegiate Rowing Association (FIRA) Championships on April 9.

UCF Results
Women's Cal Cup Grand Final (Varsity Eight)
1. San Diego State, 6:52.4
2. UCF, 6:54.25
3. Sacramento State, 6:54.76
4. Miami, 6:56.92
5. UC Davis, 6:57.47
6. Kansas State, 7:07.50

A.W. Coggeshall Cup Final (Lightweight Eight)
1. Stanford A, 7:08.1
2. UC-Santa Barbara, 7:17.29
3. San Diego State, 7:17.69
4. UCF, 7:20.58
5. Loyola, 7:29.28
6. Villanova, 7:35.01

Junior Varsity Eight Third Final
1. San Diego State, 7:12.90
2. UCF, 7:20.42
3. Loyola, 7:21.41
4. University of San Diego A, 7:32.17
5. UC-Irvine, 7:37.84
6. University of San Diego B, 8:10.47