Castellano Earns ABCA/Rawlings Southeast All-Region Second Team Honors

by James Warnick

ORLANDO – Junior left-handed pitcher Dominic Castellano has been named to the 2024 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I Southeast All-Region Second Team as announced by the American Baseball Coaches Association on Tuesday.

Castellano earned All-Southeast Region Second Team honors after being one of the top relief pitchers in the Big 12 Conference. The southpaw finished his junior campaign with a perfect 7-0 record and a stellar 2.83 ERA. He also recorded a trio of saves and finished second on the team in strikeouts with 68 in 60.1 innings of work. Castellano also limited opposing batters to just a .164 opposing average.

Castellano, who previously earned All-Big 12 Conference Honorable Mention accolades last month, ranked amongst the nation’s leaders on the year in both hits allowed per nine innings (fifth, 5.07) and WHIP (14th, 0.98). He also finished the season ranked 22nd nationally in ERA (2.83). 

The UCF left-hander had nine appearances on the year in which he lasted 3.0 or more innings. He also tallied a career-best eight strikeouts over a career-long 5.2 innings in a win over Kansas State on April 7. Over 22 appearances on the season, Castellano tossed nine scoreless outings, which included two shutout innings in a win over No. 17 Oklahoma State at the Big 12 Championship and two more in an elimination game victory over Stetson at the NCAA Tallahassee Regional.

Castellano was also one of four Knights to receive CSC Academic All-District recognition last week.

Castellano becomes UCF’s first pitcher to earn ABCA/Rawlings All-Region honors since 2017 when Robby Howell earned second team accolades.   

The all-region teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. I All-America & Coach of the Year Committee.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. I All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Tommy Raffo. The committee also includes Mitch Canham (Oregon State University), Dean Ehehalt (Monmouth University), Brian Green (Wichita State University), Jeff Mercer (Indiana University), Brian O'Connor (University of Virginia), Jim Penders (University of Connecticut), and Butch Thompson (Auburn University).

The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-America teams will be announced the morning of Friday, June 14 prior to the start of the 2024 NCAA Div. I College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska. First Team All-Region selections are eligible for All-America honors.

The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove winners in all divisions will be announced on Wednesday, June 19. ABCA/Rawlings National Pitchers and Position Players of the Year will be announced on Monday, June 24.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

To view the full 2024 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-Region Teams, click here.