Grant, Robinson Placed On Nagurski Trophy Watch List

DALLAS – The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), in conjunction with the Charlotte Touchdown Club, announced its preseason watch list for the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Trophy presented by Lending Tree on Tuesday. UCF senior safety Richie Grant and redshirt senior defensive back Aaron Robinson were among those honored.
The duo was recognized among the nation's best defensive players, one day after being named to the watch list for the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.

Grant was named to the Nagurski Trophy watch list for the second straight season. A two-time first-team all-conference honoree in the American Athletic Conference, he has started in 25 of the last 26 games for UCF. He has totaled 187 tackles, seven interceptions and 11 pass break-ups in the last two seasons.  Grant has also been named to the preseason watch lists for the Lott Impact Trophy and Bednarik Award in 2020.
A Phil Steele Preseason All-American, Robinson registered 54 total tackles to go with 5.5 tackles for loss, three interceptions, one hurry and a forced fumble in 2019. A second team all-conference selection last season, he was second on the team with 10 passes broken up.
As in previous years, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday this season. If not already on the watch list, each week's honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.
The winner of the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Trophy presented by LendingTree as the National Defensive Player of the Year will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.
About the Nagurski Award
The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.
About the Football Writers Association of America
Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.
2020 Watch Lists
June 5 – Grant, Lott IMPACT Trophy
July 13 – Grant, Bednarik Award
July 14 – Gabriel, Davey O'Brien Award
July 16 – Nixon, Biletnikoff Award
July 20 – Grant and Robinson, Jim Thorpe Award
July 21 – Schneider, Outland Trophy
July 21 – Grant and Robinson, Nagurski Award