Richie Grant Named to Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has announced its 42 candidates for the 17th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy, and among the recognized was UCF senior safety Richie Grant.
The Lott IMPACT Trophy, which has raised more than $1.6 million for scholarships and other youth-related charities throughout the country, is the only major college football award where the character of the nominee is considered.
IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.
Grant, who spent three days in Indianapolis for the NCAA Elite Student-Athlete Symposium, is one of just 15 defensive backs across the country nominated for the award. This year's Watch List also has 16 linebackers and 11 defensive linemen.
A two-time first-team all-conference honoree in the American Athletic Conference, Grant has started in 25 of the last 26 games for the UCF football team. He has totaled 187 tackles, seven interceptions and 11 pass break-ups in the last two seasons.
Grant is the only watch list honoree from The American, joining nine from the Big Ten and the ACC, eight from the Pac-12, seven from the SEC, five out of the Big 12, two from the Mountain West two, and one independent.
About the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.
The Lott IMPACT Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.
To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.6 million to various charities throughout the country. The 17th Annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Award Show will be held Dec.17th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. For more information on The Lott Trophy visit:  
Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa
2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky
2019 – Derrick Brown, Auburn