Johnson Named to Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. - The Wuerffel Trophy, presented by Chick-fil-A Foundation® announced its Watch List today. Among the  91 players from college football's Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) was UCF offensive lineman Jordan Johnson.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

The Wuerffel Trophy Watch List marks the third time that Johnson has been honored this summer after appearing on the watch lists for the Outland Trophy and Rimington Trophy. He was also named to the preseason AFCA Good Works Team.

Starting at center over the last 26 games for the Knights, Johnson was instrumental in helping the UCF offense rank in the top 10 nationally in total and scoring offense over the last two seasons.

The formal announcement of the 2019 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation's festivities in New York City on December 10. The presentation of the 2019 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 51st All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 14, 2020 in Fort Walton Beach.

2019 National Watch Lists