Milton Named Davey O'Brien Semifinalist

FORT WORTH, Texas (UCFKnights.com) – After tabulating the results of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee’s ballots as well as votes cast courtesy of the Fan Vote, the 16 semifinalists for the 2018 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award have been determined, with UCF’s McKenzie Milton among them.


Just two of the quarterbacks, including Milton, have previously been named semifinalists, receiving the honor in 2017.


The collection of semifinalists is comprised of four seniors, seven juniors, four sophomores and one freshman. Schools from eight conference affiliations (ACC, American, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mountain West, Pac-12 and SEC) and one FBS Independent make up the list. No league had more than two semifinalists.


The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the best college quarterback, and is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.


The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Foundation’s national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.


After clearing the first round totals, the Fan Vote at VoteOBrien.org will reopen on Nov. 7 and remain open until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 18, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback once daily per email address.


In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O’Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2018 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 6.


The 42nd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 18, 2019, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.


2018 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists

Ian Book, Notre Dame, Jr., 6-0, 203, El Dorado Hills, Calif.

Mason Fine, North Texas, Jr., 5-11, 185, Peggs, Okla.

Ryan Finley, NC State, Sr., 6-4, 212, Phoenix. Ariz.

Jake Fromm, Georgia, So., 6-2, 220, Warner Robins, Ga.

Will Grier, West Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 223, Charlotte, N.C.

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State, So., 6-3, 220, Potomac, Md.

Justin Herbert, Oregon, Jr., 6-6, 233, Eugene, Ore.

D’Eriq King, Houston, Jr., 5-11, 195, Manvel, Texas

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, Fr., 6-6, 215, Cartersville, Ga.

Jordan Love, Utah State, So., 6-4, 225, Bakersfield, Calif.

Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State, Sr., 6-2, 203, Dinuba, Calif.

McKenzie Milton, UCF, Jr., 5-11, 185, Kapolei, Hawaii

Gardner Minshew, Washington State, Sr., 6-2, 220, Brandon, Miss.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, Jr., 5-10, 195, Allen, Texas

Shea Patterson, Michigan, Jr., 6-4, 205, Shreveport, La.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama, So., 6-1, 218, Ewa Beach, Hawaii



Tickets are going fast for the remaining games of the 2018 campaign. Fans can purchase theirs today and learn about all of their options by calling (407) 823-1000 or visiting us online at ucfknights.com/fbtix.