Milton on Walter Camp Award Watch List

ORLANDO (UCFKnights.com) – The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifty “players to watch” – including UCF’s McKenzie Milton – for its 2018 Player of the Year award on Friday, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. 

The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. The Walter Camp Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards.

This marks the third major national award preseason watch list for Milton in 2018. The UCF signal-caller was also named to the Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien Award watch lists earlier this month. 

Milton threw for UCF records of 4,037 yards and 37 touchdowns as a sophomore. Milton also had a passing efficiency of 179.3, a completion percentage of 67.1 percent and averaged 357.7 yards of total offense per game.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November.  The 2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 129 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN on Thursday, December 6.  The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 52nd annual national awards banquet on January 12, 2019 in New Haven, Conn. 

2018 Watch Lists
July 16 – Milton, Maxwell Award
July 16 – Hill, Bednarik Award
July 17 – Milton, O’Brien Award
July 20 – Johnson, Rimington Trophy
July 23 – Gibson, Thorpe Award
July 24 – Hill, Outland Trophy
July 24 – Johnson, Outland Trophy
July 24 – Gibson, Nagurski Trophy
July 24 – Hill, Nagurski Trophy
July 27 – Milton, Walter Camp Award

Season tickets are going fast for the highly anticipated 2018 campaign. Fans can purchase theirs today and learn about all their options by calling (407) 823-1000 or visiting us online at UCFKnights.com/createthefuture.