UCF Ties for Most Representatives on the C-USA Football Preseason Team

July 23, 2012

="" alt="Twitter Logo" border="0" class="imported"> ="" alt="Facebook Logo" border="0" class="imported"> UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Brian Ormiston

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - As Conference USA prepares to host its 2012 media day in Dallas Tuesday-Wednesday, the league announced the C-USA Football Preseason Team as voted upon by the coaches. With four selections, UCF tied SMU for the most student-athletes on the squad, which featured senior defensive back Kemal Ishmael, senior offensive lineman Theo Goins, junior defensive lineman Victor Gray and sophomore kick returner Rannell Hall.

So far this summer, a total of nine Knights have received accolades for the upcoming season.

UCF Preseason Honors
Sr. S Kemal Ishmael - Jim Thorpe Award Watch List (Top Defensive Back) and C-USA Preseason Team
Sr. OL Theo Goins - Outland Trophy Watch List (Top Interior Lineman) and C-USA Preseason Team
So. WR Rannell Hall - CFPA Kickoff Returner Trophy Watch List and C-USA Preseason Team
Jr. DL Victor Gray - C-USA Preseason Team
Sr. RB Latavius Murray - Doak Walker Award Watch List (Top Running Back) and the CFPA All-Purpose Trophy Watch List
Sr. C Jordan Rae - Rimington Trophy Watch List (Top Center)
Sr. WR Quincy McDuffie - CFPA All-Purpose Trophy Watch List
Sr. LB Jonathan Davis - CFPA Linebacker Trophy Watch List
Sr. WR/QB Rob Calabrese - Nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

A member of the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, which is handed out to the top defensive back in the nation, Ishmael needs just 35 more tackles to crack UCF's all-time top 10. The three-year starter at safety boasts 244 tackles in his career, and led the Knights in tackles in both 2010 and 2011. As a junior, the Miami native had 81 tackles with three break-ups, and in 2010, Ishmael collected 93 tackles with two interceptions en route to being voted onto the All-C-USA First Team. He leads all returning players by owning a current streak of 35-straight starts.

Goins was placed on the 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List July 12, which honors the top interior lineman in college football. Hailing from Houston, he has 22-career starts highlighted by 10 starts at left guard in 2011. Goins earned All-C-USA Honorable Mention status as a junior, and was a Phil Steele Midseason All-C-USA Second Team member. Since Goins' first appearance on the UCF offensive line in 2009, the Knights have posted at least 20 rushing touchdowns in each of the last three seasons.

Named to Phil Steele's Midseason All-C-USA First Team in 2011, Gray picked up All-C-USA Honorable Mention accolades as well last year. He finished with five tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks and seven pass break-ups. Gray appeared on the C-USA All-Freshman Team in 2010 after starting 11 games and notching seven tackles for loss. In two years in a Black and Gold uniform, the Dr. Phillips High School product has 23 starts, 62 tackles, 12 break-ups and 2.5 sacks.

Coming out of nowhere during the second half of 2011, Hall broke out on special teams. Hailing from Miami, he only began returning kickoffs in game six and proceeded to be voted onto the All-C-USA First Team. Hall was the only freshman from any school to earn a spot on either the first or second team, and was the first freshman kick returner to be voted onto the first team since 2002. He ranked fifth in the nation in kickoff returns, averaging 31.0 yards per attempt and completing the year with 714 yards on 23 returns. UCF was 104th in the nation in kickoff returns before Hall took over, and the Knights ended the year ranked third.

UCF football season tickets are currently available for as low as $140, while single-game tickets and flex plans are also on sale. For more information and to place an order, call the UCF Ticket Office at (407) 823-1000 or visit UCFAthletics.com. Attending a UCF football game is a great way to celebrate birthdays, corporate outings or any special occasion. Please ask about group packages today.

2012 C-USA Football Coaches Preseason Awards
Offensive Player of the Year
Zach Line, Sr., RB, SMU

Defensive Player of the Year
Trent Mackey, Sr., LB, Tulane

Special Teams Player of the Year
Tracey Lampley, Sr., KR/PR, Southern Miss

First Team Offense
QB - Nick Lamaison, Sr., UTEP
RB - Charles Sims, Jr., Houston
RB - Zach Line, Sr., SMU
OL - Jordan Devey, Sr., Memphis
OL - Joe Duhon, Sr., Southern Miss
OL - Kevin Forsch, Jr., Houston
OL - Theo Goins, Sr., UCF
OL - Chris Hubbard, Sr., UAB
OL - Will Simmons, Jr., East Carolina
WR - Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa
WR - Aaron Dobson, Sr., Marshall
WR - Darius Johnson, Sr., SMU
TE - Luke Willson, Sr., Rice

First Team Defense
DL - Michael Brooks, Sr., East Carolina
DL - Jamie Collins, Sr., Southern Miss
DL - Victor Gray, Jr., UCF
DL - Margus Hunt, Sr., SMU
LB - Jeremy Grove, So., East Carolina
LB - Trent Mackey, Sr., Tulane
LB - Taylor Reed, Sr., SMU
DB - Bryce Callahan, So., Rice
DB - D.J. Hayden, Sr., Houston
DB - Kemal Ishmael, Sr., UCF
DB - Dexter McCoil, Sr., Tulsa

First Team Special Teams
K - Chris Boswell, Jr., Rice
P - Ian Campbell, Sr., UTEP
KR - Rannell Hall, So., UCF
PR - Tracey Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss