UCF RB Murray Honored with a Spot on the Doak Walker Award Watch List

July 19, 2012

="" alt="Twitter Logo" border="0" class="imported"> ="" alt="Facebook Logo" border="0" class="imported"> UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Brian Ormiston

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - Receiving his second honor of the preseason, UCF senior running back Latavius Murray was selected to the Doak Walker Award Watch List, announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Thursday. The award is presented to the nation's top running back, and a total of 52 candidates were on this year's list.

The award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, and the winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards Dec. 6 on ESPN. Past winners include Eddie George, Ricky Williams, Ron Dayne, LaDainian Tomlinson, Larry Johnson, Darren McFadden and last year's recipient Trent Richardson. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

A native of Nedrow, N.Y., Murray already has a spot on the College Football Performance Awards All-Purpose Trophy Watch List this year. He ranks tied for fifth all-time at UCF with 22 rushing touchdowns, while he has 1,318 rushing yards on 255 attempts for a 5.2 average.

In 2012, he carried the ball 21 times in each of the final two games. In the finale vs. UTEP, he amassed 233 rushing yards which marked the fourth-best rushing performance in school history. He also had two touchdowns on the ground as well as one in the air, helping him earn CFPA National Running Back of the Week accolades. Earlier in the season, he was a CFPA National Kick Returner of the Week thanks to a 69-yard kickoff return for a touchdown at Southern Miss.

Murray finished 2012 by posting at least one reception in the final seven contests, and ranked fifth on the team with 242 receiving yards. He would later be named the 2012 team MVP.

As a sophomore in 2010, Murray was the Conference USA Championship Game MVP and the AutoZone Liberty Bowl MVP. He raced for 11 rushing touchdowns and averaged 5.7 yards per carry.

UCF on Preseason Watch Lists
Sr. RB Latavius Murray - Doak Walker Award (Top Running Back)
Sr. C Jordan Rae - Rimington Trophy (Top Center)
Sr. S Kemal Ishmael - Jim Thorpe Award (Top Defensive Back)
Sr. OL Theo Goins - Outland Trophy (Top Interior Lineman)
Sr. WR Quincy McDuffie - CFPA All-Purpose Trophy
Sr. RB Latavius Murray - CFPA All-Purpose Trophy
So. WR Rannell Hall - CFPA Kickoff Returner Trophy
Sr. LB Jonathan Davis - CFPA Linebacker Trophy
(Sr. WR/QB Rob Calabrese also was selected as a nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team)

UCF football season tickets are currently available for as low as $140, while single-game tickets and flex plans are also on sale. For more information and to place an order, call the UCF Ticket Office at (407) 823-1000 or visit UCFAthletics.com. Attending a UCF football game is a great way to celebrate birthdays, corporate outings or any special occasion. Please ask about group packages today.