Rowing Heads to Chattanooga for Head of the Hooch

Nov. 4, 2011

="" alt="Knight Head" border="0" class="imported"> Read John Denton's Knights Insider | ="" alt="Twitter Logo" border="0" class="imported">Follow us on Twitter | ="" alt="Facebook Logo" border="0" class="imported">Get social with the Knights on Facebook

By Mike Garabedian

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - The UCF rowing team is scheduled for its fourth race of the season when six of their boats compete at the Head of the Hooch in Chattanooga on Saturday.

The regatta is scheduled for a 7:45 a.m. start but the team's first race isn't till 12:25 p.m., when the Knights "A" and "B" boats contend during the Women's Champ 8+. At 3:46 p.m., the squad returns to race the Women's College and Club Novice 8+. UCF concludes the regatta with the Women's Championship 4+, scheduled for a 5:06 p.m. race time.

This will be the second trip to Chattanooga, Tenn. in less than a month for the Knights, who finished with two boats in the top five at the Chattanooga Head Race Oct. 8. The race is three miles long on the Tennessee River; the same course the Knights faced conference opponents Alabama and Tennessee in the first race of the season.

The regatta is currently the second largest in the U.S. with over 9000 rowers scheduled to participate this year.

This is the last race scheduled for the fall season, before the Knights return in spring for the majority of their races.

UCF Head of the Hooch Lineups

Women's Champ 8+ (Race time 12:25)

"A" Boat
C Karlie Kechele
8 Margaret Lahmeyer
7 Calena Illan
6 Nina Morgan
5 Chelsey Lauzon
4 Ginni Dunlop
3 Nicole Lacek
2 Kara Johanessen
1 Katherine Krueger

"B" Boat
C Clarie Frenkel
8 Noelle Crosby
7 Shannon Riley
6 Alyssa Egan
5 Lucia Pinelli
4 Kali Mills
3 Camille Everett
2 Michelle Haves
1 Kelly Thiele

Women's College & Club Novice 8+ (Race time 3:46)
"A" Boat
C Katharine Kutash
8 Eden Veldkamp
7 Olivia Renfro
6 Chelsea McCaulley
5 Cristina Sotomayer
4 Angelie Denizard
3 Carla Ortiz
2 Jacilynn Puterbaugh
1 Shannon Finner

"B" Boat
C Rebecca Campbell
8 Janice Gowen
7 Kendall O'Connor
6 Allie Glisch
5 Casey Craig
4 Brittany Pelton
3 Madison Bradley
2 Kayla Thieken
1 Sydney Solan

Women's Championship 4+ (Race time 5:06)

"A" Boat
C Heather Hart
4 Margaret Lahmeyer
3 Calena Illan
2 Chelsey Lauzon
1 Nina Morgan

"B" Boat
C Lea Kram
4 Tory Carroll
3 Hannah Bogan
2 Anita Schmidt
1 Lynna Paradiso