Cross Country Runs in NCAA South Regional Saturday

Nov. 12, 2010

Read John Denton's Knights Insider | Follow us on Twitter | Get social with the Knights on Facebook

By Pat Salvas

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com)
- The UCF cross country team will run in the 2010 NCAA South Regional hosted by Samford University Saturday in Hoover, Ala. The women's 6K race is scheduled for 9:45 a.m. in Veterans Park.

The Knights will have six runners competing at Saturday's Regional. Senior Ocean Cohen (Sarasota, Fla.) will look to finish the season as the top runner for UCF in each race of 2010. Carley Dart (Whitby, Ontario) will also be running in the final cross country race of her college career before turning her attention to the track season.

A quartet of freshman will round out the six runners representing UCF at the race. Sierra Solaun (Gainesville, Fla.), Erica Winston (Long Beach, Calif.), Ne'Ausha Logan (Long Beach, Calif.) and Danielle Scaffidi (Northport, Fla.) will all look to post strong showings in the last race of the fall.

"I am excited to see how we finish the season. Our goals are to compete as hard as we can and set personal bests across the board," cross country coach Paul Brown said. "This will be Ocean and Carley's final cross country race in the Knights uniform, so I am especially looking for them to run to their best. The South Region is filled with lots of talent all around with Florida and Florida State at the top and I am hoping these teams can pull us to fast times as well."

Saturday's race will feature a field of 35 teams, including Florida State, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Tennessee and Vanderbilt. UCF will also run alongside three other programs from Conference USA as Southern Miss, Memphis and UAB will also compete.

The South Regional is one of nine regional meets nationally. The top two teams from each regional will earn automatic bids, while 13 other teams will receive at-large bids to advance to the NCAA Division I Championships on Nov. 22 in Terre Haute, Ind. Following the selection of teams, an addition 38 individuals will be selected to run unattached at the National Championship meet.