UCF Cross Country Finishes 10th at Disney Cross Country Classic

Oct. 9, 2010

Final Stats

="" alt="Knight Head" border="0" class="imported"> Read John Denton's Knights Insider | ="" alt="Twitter Logo" border="0" class="imported">Follow us on Twitter | ="" alt="Facebook Logo" border="0" class="imported">Get social with the Knights on Facebook

By Pat Salvas

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - For the fifth time this season, senior Ocean Cohen was the top runner for the UCF cross country team Saturday morning at the Disney Cross Country Classic. Cohen crossed the line 39th overall with a time of 19:04.40 to help the Knights to 269 team points and a 10th-place finish.

The average time of finish of 19:29.52 was the fastest of the season for the Knights.

"I am pleased that this far into the season, we were able to set the fastest average finish," cross country coach Paul Brown said. "Every runner posted their fastest time on that course, whether they had run in high school or at UCF."

Alyssa Franks and Carley Dart were the second and third UCF runners to finish Saturday's race. Franks narrowly edged out Dart, crossing 48th overall in 19:16. Dart followed in 49th, with a time of 19:18.90.

Freshman Sierra Solaun's time of 19:48.60 was good for 66th place, while fellow first-year runner Danielle Scaffidi the last UCF runner in the scoring. Scaffidi ran a 20:01.70 to finish 80th.

The Knights also saw finishing times from Ne'Ausha Logan (81st, 20:03.40), Mason Gardberg (106th, 20:34.30), Erica Winston (116th, 20:49.50), Dan'elle Ballamy (151st, 22:00.00), Eva Pierce (180th, 23:29.50) and Aisha-Maree Frazier (202nd, 25:29.50). The meet was won by national power South Carolina with 67 points. Johns Hopkins (81 points) and Coastal Carolina (83 points), both strong programs in their respective regions, finished second and third, respectively.

"Overall, this was a good meet for us. We had some great conditions and that helped us produce some fast times," Brown said.

The Knights head to the Hatter Invitational in DeLand, Fla., in their next meet. Stetson will host the annual meet.