Women's Rowing To Compete in South/Central Regional Championships This Weekend

May 14, 2010

By Brittany Dixon

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFAthletics.com) - The UCF rowing team is competing in the South/Central Regional Championship this weekend in Oak Ridge, Tenn. at Melton Hill Lake.

The Knights begin racing at 9:20 a.m. Saturday in the open four event followed by the novice eight at 9:50 a.m. At 10:20 a.m., the varsity four boat will compete and the 11:10 the second varsity eight will take the water. UCF's last event of the day will be the varsity eight race at 11:40 a.m.

The boats will race Sunday morning in the finals and an award presentation will take place after the final event.

UCF will also battle for the first Conference USA championship which takes place in conjunction with the South/Central Regional Championship. The winner of the C-USA championship will be determined by the results of the varsity eight, varsity four and second varsity eight events at the South/Central Regional Championship.

The Black and Gold has already faced some of the competition in its conference this season. Alabama, Kansas State, Oklahoma and Texas have all been defeated by a UCF boat.

The Knights are no stranger to the South/Central Regional Championship. In 2009, the squad earned a 10th place overall finish and won third-place South region honors. The varsity eight finished fourth in the petite finals and the varsity four claimed third in the petite finals. The second varsity eight and open four boats advanced to the C finals and finished first and sixth respectively. The novice eight squad claimed third in the Grand Finals with a time of 6:31.2.

For the latest news on the Knights, log on to www.UCFAthletics.com - the official site for UCF varsity sports. The site, which also contains ticket and Golden Knights Club donor information, is also the home of UCF's new online apparel store. Also visit www.UCFPhotos.com, the exclusive fan source for UCF action sports pictures.

Varsity 8
Brittany Skidmore
Alyssa Egan
Sam Miller
Jordynn Pauls
Monica Larkin
Chelsey Lauzon
Lauren Hampson
Margaret Lahmeyer
Liz Robinson

Second varsity 8
Stephanie Galo
Katherine Krueger
Amanda Schimian
Nicole Hoag
Kaley Tierney
Tina Bechtold
Camille Everett
Lucia Pinelli
Nicole Lacek

Novice 8
Samantha Banaszek
Lynna Paradiso
Lauren Jenkins
Sarah Ponte
Kelly Thiele
Nicole Godreau
Meagan Miles
Lyndsey Gassman
Lorelei Rogero

Varsity 4
Lauren Patton
Chelsey Green
Nina Morgan
Sheilah Abadines
Leah VanLear

2nd Varsity 4
Claire Frenkel
Sasha Baxter
Christine Rubino
Sylvia Morgese
Stacia Strong