UCF Student-Athletes Earn 27 C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medals

May 7, 2008

Complete Conference USA Release (PDF)

ORLANDO, Fla. (www.ucfathletics.com) - Twenty-seven UCF student-athletes have earned the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal during the 2007-08 school year, Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced Wednesday. The medals are awarded to those students who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or better.

The announcement comes one day after the Knights placed a C-USA-leading 194 student-athletes on the Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll. Tulsa led the league in C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medals with 41, followed by Memphis (38) and SMU (37). UCF placed sixth with its 27 student-athletes earning medals.

Seven members of the UCF women's rowing squad were recognized with medals to lead the Knights. UCF competes in rowing as an independent, but C-USA includes the sport in its academic awards. Four softball student-athletes earned the medals, as did three athletes each from baseball, men's soccer and women's soccer.

The complete list of honorees is listed below.

For the latest news and information on the Knights, tickets or apparel, log on to www.ucfathletics.com - the official site for UCF varsity sports. Also visit www.ucfphotos.com, the exclusive fan source for UCF action sports pictures.

UCF Honorees - Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal

Colin Arnold (Baseball)
Tyler Bunnell (Baseball)
Matt Manning (Baseball)
Kristen Zieminski (Women's Cross Country)
Will Gaetjens (Football)
Khymest Williams (Football)
Kyle Cobb (Men's Golf)
Liz Alger (Women's Golf)
Katie Detiefsen (Women's Golf)
Michelle Carter (Women's Rowing)
Emma Gresson (Women's Rowing)
Samantha Maticka (Women's Rowing)
Erin Riegal (Women's Rowing)
Brittany Skidmore (Women's Rowing)
Hillary Trupp (Women's Rowing)
Taylor Wiatt (Women's Rowing)
Anton Ahlen (Men's Soccer)
Joshua Andone (Men's Soccer)
Allen McIntyre (Men's Soccer)
Kate Begley (Women's Soccer)
Lauren Halbert (Women's Soccer)
Jaclyn Mead (Women's Soccer)
Abby McClain (Softball)
Megan Murphy (Softball)
Catherine Snapp (Softball)
Ashley Van Ryn (Softball)
Jenny Heppert (Volleyball)

Tulsa 41
Memphis 38
SMU 37
East Carolina 36
UAB 32
UCF 27
Marshall 26
Rice 24
Southern Miss 19
Houston 11
Tulane 10
South Carolina 6 (Men's Soccer Only)
Kentucky 3 (Men's Soccer Only)
Colorado College 1 (Women's Soccer Only)