UCF's Kevin Smith Named To Walter Camp Player Of The Year Watch List, Semifinalist For Doak Walker Award

Nov. 13, 2007

Orlando, Fla. (www.ucfathletics.com) - UCF junior running back Kevin Smith was named to the `Players To Watch' list for the 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year award and made a list of 10 semifinalists still vying for the Doak Walker Award, which is given annually to the nation's best running back, as officials from both awards released their respective candidates on Tuesday.

Smith has rushed for a UCF single-season record 1,768 yards (2nd in FBS) and broke the school record and tied the Conference USA record for total touchdowns with 23 (22 rush, one receiving) through the opening 10 games of the campaign. His season rushing total also helped him surpass Alex Haynes on the UCF career charts for the top spot among Knight running backs with 3,880 rushing yards.

During the Knights' four-game winning streak, Smith has rushed for 853 yards and scored 11 rushing touchdowns (12 total) to help lead UCF (7-3) to the top of the C-USA East Division standings at 5-1 in league play. Smith is the only running back in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision with a pair of 80-plus yard touchdown runs and his 320-yard rushing effort vs. UAB last Saturday was a UCF single-game record.

A list of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award will be named on Monday, Nov. 19, while a list of five finalists for the Walter Camp Award will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 27.

The 162 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes this week to determine the 2007 finalists. The 2007 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6. The award is named after three-time SMU All-American running back and1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker.

The 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 119 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 12, 2008 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Last year's recipient was Troy Smith (Ohio State), who is currently a rookie on the Baltimore Ravens.

Doak Walker Award Semifinalists (in alphabetical order): Anthony Alridge of Houston, Jamaal Charles of Texas, Mike Hart of Michigan, Felix Jones and Darren McFadden of Arkansas, Rashard Mendenhall of Illinois, Ray Rice of Rutgers, Kevin Smith of UCF and Jonathan Stewart of Oregon.

Walter Camp Player of the Year Award `Players To Watch' List (in alphabetical order): quarterback Colt Brennan of Hawaii, linebacker Dan Connor of Penn State, quarterback Chase Daniel of Missouri, quarterback Dennis Dixon of Oregon, defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey of LSU, running back Matt Forte of Tulane, linebacker James Laurinaitis of Ohio State, running back Darren McFadden of Arkansas, running back Ray Rice of Rutgers, quarterback Matt Ryan of Boston College, running back Kevin Smith of UCF, defensive back Aqib Talib of Kansas, defensive end George Selvie of South Florida, quarterback Tim Tebow of Florida and quarterback Patrick White of West Virginia.

Tickets for UCF's regular season finale vs. UTEP on Nov. 24 are still available and can be purchased by calling 407-UCF-1000.

For the latest news and information on the Knights, tickets or apparel log on to www.ucfathletics.com - the official site for UCF varsity sports. Also check out www.ucfphotos.com, the exclusive fan source for UCF action sports pictures.