(W) Basketball

American Women's Basketball Championship to Return
April 16, 2014
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email Article Print Article

April 17, 2014

="" alt="Twitter Logo" border="0" class="imported"> ="" alt="Facebook Logo" border="0" class="imported"> UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Jenna Marina

ORLANDO, Fla. ( -- The American Athletic Conference Women's Basketball Championship will return to the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., for 2015, the league office announced Thursday.

Mohegan Sun Arena served as the host for the inaugural championship in 2014 in March. Home to the WNBA's Connecticut Sun, the 10,000-seat arena has hosted championship boxing, college and professional men's and women's basketball, Davis Cup tennis, professional bull riding and professional bowling. The WNBA All Star Game has been hosted by Mohegan Sun Arena four times.

All 11 American Athletic Conference schools will participate in the 2015 championship and ESPN Networks will provide television and digital coverage of the tournament.

The American's membership in 2014-15 will include UCF, Cincinnati, 2014 NCAA champion UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa. UCF head coach Joi Williams is set to serve her eighth season with the Knights, who return four starters, including All-Freshman selection Zykira Lewis.

Meet the Knights

{{}} - {{player.position}}
{{}}: {{}}
All State
Florida Blue
DoubleTree Bottom
Central Florida Expressway
Hedez Dry Cleaners
Hilton Garden Inn Bottom
Luxury Transportation Group
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Coke AD
Addition AD
Nike AdNik
Spectrum Ad